Product Reviews

Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras

The Lorex ECO DVR security camera solution introduces high capacity and expandability features delivering the essentials of video surveillance that will meet your budget while allowing for future growth. The 16CH ECO Security DVR includes a 1TB HDD which you expand up to 4TB. Compatible with iPhone, Blackberry, Android, and Windows Mobile, you can now access your system from anywhere in the world at any time. Includes 8 Hi-Res Indoor/Outdoor Security Cameras.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 out of 29(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wichy
Location: orlando fl
Best cameras ever great night vision
Date:April 13, 2013
The Lorex ECO x16 DVR is perhaps the easiest network appliance I've ever set up as a homeowner. Works like a charm and I love the Lorex DDNS service. This made setting up the box at home and then taking out to our new home build site a breeze.buy this DVR mainly for the iphone to see what was happening in my house, works perfectly.This has been the best security DVR . Easy to set up and can view any where in the world with iPhone,iPad,iMac, or any PC. It's the best hands down for the price cameras were also good quality.
Review 2 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fly2Alaska
Location: Kent, WA
Peace of mind and easy to set up
Date:March 26, 2013
Unfortunately we got this after a burglary, but now feel more secure with this excellent camera system. It was pretty easy to set up and the 8 cameras give great coverage around the house. Easy to hook up to router and get access from anywhere, including live access via my iPhone.
Review 3 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harry
best purchase
Date:March 26, 2013
I purchase this dvr from costco last month. very easy to install,
setup, free ddns from lorex so I can view on smart phone.
good night vision,I am very hapy with result.
Review 4 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dee
Location: ny
security
Date:March 26, 2013
The cameras have a fairly good range and clarity. It caught a vandal on camera at night but extra lighting outside the house was definitely helpful for viewing. It is a bit difficult to view the recordings and the periodic intervals are a bit annoying. If you can keep the equipment in a spare room it would be to your advantage. The DVR is quite bright and noisy. Not bedroom equipment. One plus is to be able to click on the hooked up TV and see live recording as well as to be able to view the recording live from a computer or smart phone. The set up was a bit complicated for a non-techie but support was helpful when called.
Review 5 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheDominator
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
good system, Android app can use some work
Date:March 26, 2013
The camera quality is good for this price range. The replay is good and live monitoring is good over a PC. The Android apps can use some work. I can't replay content from my app and I cannot access my system while on my local network at home. I have to connect to the Internet instead of my local network to be able to see my cameras.
Review 6 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RaulM
Location: Hallandale Beach,Fl
Great product
Date:March 26, 2013
Great product. It works as advertised, visibility at night is really good even in really dark areas, will buy again from Lorex, this year will add cameras to my system and here is the place I'm coming to buy.Thanks a lot .
Review 7 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RhbsparkyPurched
Location: Minocqua,wi
Date:March 26, 2013
I bought a Q-see system from Costco,but I could not connect to I-phone or pc. I called Q-see tech support and they could not make my system work. They would keep sending set up inst. via my e-mail, so I returned the Q-see unit to Costco.
This time I bought a Loxex from Costco. I called lorex tech support and within a couple minutes the lorex tech had me up and running. (Super tech surport)
Review 8 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karen619
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Excellent product
Date:March 26, 2013
I purchased this system to protect our home/garage/property and barn. I love it. It is so easy to set up and use. I have recommended Lorex products to my neighbors.
Review 9 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dartplayer301
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Very Pleased With Purchase
Date:September 5, 2012
I purchased this unit after lots of research online, about 2 weeks worth. I was looking at systems that were affordable but want to make sure that I had no regrets, so I spent double of what I first planned to spend.
With 17 years in the telecommunication industry, it was a breeze to install. The DVR was online, sending photos, and streaming to (2) Android smartphones, (1) iPad, and (1) Android tablet in no time.
Made changes improving video quality, (mainstream and sub stream), little tweaks here and there all was well for over a month. I started to make a few more changes to improve video quality, (more bandwidth) and the DVR would lock up. I would then reboot the DVR and put the video settings back. Then after a couple of weeks the DVR would lose internal network connection while watching through a browser. Up to 68 times in 24 hours for 1 to 8 minutes each time.
With confirming a solid gigabit home network, I reset the DVR to factory default. Then changing the settings right away, all is good. No network reboots for over a month. With it probably being a small firmware glitch, I have no concerns now or in the future.
I chose this unit mainly for the cameras temperature operating range. Winters here can get quite cold. At this moment I cannot comment on how the cameras work in the cold / frigid weather, but I probably will update the review in the future.
The unit is very easy to upgrade the hard drive. SATA and power connections are already connected to the motherboard, it just awaits a new HD. With the unit having a 500Gig hard drive, I added a 1.5 Terabyte “green” hard drive. Case fans are a bit loud, but not too much of a concern.
As always, put the DVR on a UPS. Not just for security reasons, but also to condition the line, (brownouts, spikes, etc.).
This is a great peace of mind and I cannot see our future homes without a security camera system.
I will purchase Lorex products again.
Review 10 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UPS Store owner
Location: Orlando, FL
Good but not great
Date:March 3, 2012
I thought I was paying more money and getting something better than most, but what I got was only average. Decent resolution, easy to hook up and get going, limited remote access. If I had to do it all again and knew what I know now, I would try to find out how to buy something with more options and better access. For a basic "hook up some cameras and that's it" product, it suits the purpose.
Review 11 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: alexandria,in
new coustomer
Date:January 20, 2012
to who it may concern, i just wanted to say thanks for my camera system. i have the 8 channel product of yours and very happy with it, i had a freind come in and help me set this up and he talked to you on the phone and he said they took care of all the questions he had. i only had 1 small problem and that was trying to get in touch with you service but the told me to call early inthe morning and it would be easer to get in touch and they where right it was. i am going to buy another system of your here in a month for my home but it may need to be wireless but i will leave that up to tech support. i just wanted to say thanks again i just hope i wasnt to late for this opinion.
thanks david
Review 12 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:January 8, 2012
NIGHT VISION COULD STAND TO BE CLEARER
DAY VISION IS VERY GOOD
Review 13 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: greensboro nc
slow product and freez up
Date:December 1, 2011
i bought 2 of this and one is gone bed within 5 month
it get freez on
Review 14 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Anaheim, CA
Good system
Date:November 22, 2011
It is pretty easy to setup the cameras and DVR. I have a static IP and familiar with computer and router so setup forwarding is easy for me. I also contacted customer support 3 times, 2 times by phone, one by email. First time, Nick was very good technican and nice. The 2nd time calling a few days later when I could not lauch the Lorex app on another computer , the technician (spoke with a foreign accent) said that it was the problem with my computer and refused to help. A few days later, i emailed the support staff with the same problem and 3 days later got a very helpful reply email from Mark who resolved my issue. Thanks you, Nick and Mark.
Camera is good during daylight, average at low light. A little annoyance though: I set up email notification, so every 3 min, i received an email from the system. Will contact techsupport again for a workaround/solution
Review 15 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
could have better interface
Date:November 19, 2011
Purchased system to give parents the opportunity to visually connect themselves to their children in our childcare. Constant black and white back to color happens throughout the day. Server issues also. Can only have so many parents viewing at a time. Wish there was a better set up. I do have parents asking if
I can install these at their home. Lol
Review 16 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts
Best Investment
Date:November 18, 2011
i like it is a peace of mind i only have the one with 4 camaras and it works great...
Review 17 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Bellevue , wa
Lorex review
Date:November 18, 2011
It has it's pros and cons , had to pay 200 for a tech to come and set up mobile viewing , since it was so complicated . But otherwise I'm happy with the product , 2of the cameras are stuck on black and white , but im told it's from the power supply .... Idk why. It records and does the job for me , I would definetly reccomend this to anyone :)
Review 18 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Model LH110 Series
Date:November 16, 2011
Upon reviewing recorded events, on this Lorex DVR 16 Channel ECO (which showed a good video recording), I have one pet peeve; and that is in my situation, I had only eight cameras attached to this unit (not sixteen); and of the eight recorded camera events, I had to keep on manually "unchecking" the camera boxes (of unattached cameras nine through sixteen).
Review 19 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Fort Seybert, WV
Not for home use
Date:October 30, 2011
Unit is too loud to be used in a living area of a home. Menu screen is dim and could be much less complicated. Replay is complicated and incomplete. Original unit had to be returned for replacement due to a vibration it developed and that took almost two weeks to complete.
Most suitable for a business where it can be placed in a back room that no one works in regularly.
I would not recommend it for home use.
Review 20 for Lorex 16 Channel ECO Security DVR with 8 High Resolution Security Cameras
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: north Alabama
Good system
Date:October 20, 2011
I had a home breakin this summer. I asked the person who repaired my back door if he had any recommendations on a video surveillance system. He had used an 8 channel Lorex surveillance system at his house and hadn't had any problems with it. I wanted a system that I could install myself and adapt to fit my current and future needs. I did not want to pay a monthly monitoring charge to a commercial security company.
After researching the available Lorex systems, I chose the system with the 16 channel DVR and 8 cameras which I was able to order through the local Costco store. I had also researched other brands but this seemed to be the best combination of features and price for my needs.
In addition to the 16 video inputs, this model DVR also has 16 alarm inputs and 1 alarm output that I will eventually connect up to door or window sensors and an audible alarm. I later bought 4 additional cameras and currently have 10 cameras monitoring the outside and garage areas of my house. With these 10 cameras and the 1TB DVR hard drive, I can record about 2 weeks worth of continuous video before the oldest data gets overwriten. I prefer to record everything and do not utilize the motion detect features. Playback has worked well when I have tried it.
I do not use the remote monitoring via smart phone features, but do have the remote monitor software installed on my laptop. The software installed without a problem, and I have used it to monitor the cameras when I am out of town. I also have a friend in town who can monitor them from their house when I am out of town and do not have internet access. I have the DVR located near my home computer and have routed the DVR video output to the an auxiliary input on my computer monitor for easy camera monitoring at home.
I had no problems while installing the system at my house (other than routing cables through the attic in the summertime), and everything worked the first time. I have had the system up and running for about 3 months now and have not had any problems. The DVR fan is rather noisy as reported in other reviews, but it is not objectionable. The video quality is about what I expected for a 480 line specification. That should be adequate to see what happens during a breakin, but may not be good enough to recognize faces at a long distance. Color quality during daytime is good as is black & white quality during the night.
When a short power outage occurred once, the DVR automatically rebooted and resumed recording when power was restored. I may eventually add a UPS in case power lines are cut before a breakin.
12next>>